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NOTICE OF STATE AGENCY RULEMAKING 
 
PUBLIC INPUT FOR RULES A list of state agency rule proposals is published here each 
Wednesday. You can get a copy of a proposed rule by contacting the person listed in the 
notice. You can comment on a proposed rule by submitting a written comment to the agency or 
by attending the public hearing, if one is scheduled. If no hearing is scheduled, you can request 
one.  The agency must hold a hearing if it receives 5 or more requests.  If you have a disability 
and need assistance to participate in a hearing you should tell the agency at least 7 days before 
the hearing. ONLINE INFORMATION Weekly notices, full text of adopted rules, and a list of 
agency rulemaking contacts are available at this website: 
https://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/index.html  
 

PROPOSALS 

 
AGENCY: 10-144 Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Family 
Independence  
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 331, Public Assistance Manual Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Manual (Chapter II TANF Rule #124 – COFA 
Update)  
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P024  
BRIEF SUMMARY: Consistent with the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2024, Public Law 
118-42, the proposed rule would update Chapter II, Eligibility Requirements (Non-Financial). 
The proposed rule changes are intended to provide clarity on eligibility for citizens of countries 
governed by the Compacts of Free Association (COFA).  
PUBLIC HEARING (if any): No public hearing is scheduled.  
COMMENT DEADLINE: Monday, April 14, 2025, at 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time.  
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING:  
Alexandria Lauritzen, TANF Program Manager  
Department of Health and Human Services  
Office for Family Independence  
109 Capitol Street  
Augusta, ME 04330-6841  
Phone: (207) 215-7496/Fax: (207) 287-3455  
TT Users Call Maine Relay – 711  
Alexandria.Lauritzen@maine.gov   
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): N/A.  
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): None anticipated.  
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 22 M.R.S. §§ 42(1); 3769-A.  
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): P.L. 118-
42.  
AGENCY WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi   
EMAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULEMAKING LIAISON: Emily.A.Cathcart@maine.gov 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.maine.gov%2Fsos%2Fcec%2Frules%2Findex.html&data=05%7C02%7CJ.Chris.Parr%40maine.gov%7C645b27059f0346864d7008dc94834bf0%7C413fa8ab207d4b629bcdea1a8f2f864e%7C0%7C0%7C638548538834447354%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=K93i9Iukz%2F4M1hnG1XnmVSNiEpRD2zB99vb6RheIZ8A%3D&reserved=0
mailto:Alexandria.Lauritzen@maine.gov
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi
mailto:Emily.A.Cathcart@maine.gov
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AGENCY: 10-144 Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Family 
Independence 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 332, MaineCare Eligibility Manual (Part 9: LIMITED 
BENEFITS GROUP and Chart 3.8: Premiums for Special Benefits Waiver [Maine Section 
1115 Health Care Reform Demonstration for Individuals with HIV/AIDS]; MaineCare Rule 
#312P – Part 9 and Chart 3.8 Premium Updates) 
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P025 
BRIEF SUMMARY: The Department proposes to update Part 9: LIMITED BENEFITS 
GROUPS and Chart 3.8: Premiums for Special Benefits Waiver [Maine Section 1115 Health 
Care Reform Demonstration for Individuals with HIV/AIDS]. The proposed rule changes 
are intended to provide clarity and increase accessibility for readers. 
 
The proposed rule changes to Part 9, Section 1(2) Premiums include: 
 
▪ “Premiums are set by the Office of MaineCare Services and increase 5% annually on 

January 1st. 
▪ “Starting January 1, 2025, premium amounts due are posted online at 

https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/programs-services/health-care-assistance.” would 
replace “See Chart 3.8 for premium amounts due.” 

▪   2(A) “$37.73” would replace “$35.93” and “$415.03” would replace “$395.23.” 
 

For consistency and clarification, the Department proposes additional changes to Part 9 to 
include: 
 
▪ “250%” would replace “250 percent” 
▪ “Medicare” would replace “other benefits” 
▪ “1st” would replace “first” for the first day of a calendar month. 
 
The Department proposes to remove Chart 3.8 – Premiums for Special Benefits Waiver 
[Maine Section 1115 Health Care Reform Demonstration for Individuals with HIV/AIDS] 
from the charts and appendices. In addition, the proposed rule changes would add 
“Effective January 1, 2025, amounts due are posted online at 
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/programs-services/health-care-assistance.” Further, 
“For additional information, see 10-144 Chapter 332; Part 9, Limited Benefit Group, Section 
1(2) Premiums for Special Benefit Waiver” would be added. 
 
Retroactive rulemaking is permissible under 22 M.R.S. § 42(8) as the proposed update does not 
negatively affect reimbursement or other payments, benefits or services for Special Benefits 
Waiver recipients under the rules previously in effect. 

https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/programs-services/health-care-assistance
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/programs-services/health-care-assistance
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PUBLIC HEARING (if any): No public hearing is scheduled. 
COMMENT DEADLINE: Monday, April 14, 2025, at 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time. 
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: 
Adam Hooper, MaineCare Program Manager 
Office for Family Independence 
Department of Health & Human Services 
109 Capitol Street 
Augusta, ME 04333 
Phone: (207)441-4916/ Fax: (207)287-3455 
TT Users Call Maine Relay – 711 
Adam.Hooper@maine.gov  
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): N/A 
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): None 
anticipated. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 22 M.R.S. §§ 42(1), (8) and 3173 
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): N/A. 
AGENCY WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi 
EMAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULEMAKING LIAISON: 
Emily.A.Cathcart@maine.gov 

 
 
AGENCY:  65-407 Public Utilities Commission 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 6, Requirements for Public Safety Answering Point 
and Dispatch Center Annual Reports Regarding Costs to Provision Enhanced 9-1-1 Services 
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P026 
BRIEF SUMMARY: The Commission initiates a rulemaking proceeding to adopt a new 
rule to implement recently enacted legislation, P.L. 2023, ch. 609.  Annually, by rule, a 
public safety answering point and dispatch center shall each provide the bureau with a 
report of the costs incurred by the public safety answering point or dispatch center for the 
provision of enhanced 9-1-1 services. 
PUBLIC HEARING (if any): March 31, 2025 at 2:00pm at the Public Utilities Commission, 
26 Katherine Drive, Hallowell, Maine 04347. Persons unable to attend this conference in 
person may elect to participate virtually by emailing pamela.kowalchuk@maine.gov at the 
Commission and requesting a Microsoft Teams invitation. Those unable to attend via video 
may participate by phone using the dial-in information that appears on the Microsoft 
Teams invitation (obtained as described above). 
COMMENT DEADLINE: Friday, April 11, 2025. Comments on the proposed rule may be 
filed electronically using the Commission’s Case Management System (CMS) or may be 
sent in writing to the Administrative Director.  
However, the Commission requests that initial comments be filed by close of business on 
Thursday, March 27, 2025, to allow for follow up inquires during the hearing. Supplemental 
comments may be filed after the hearing by April 11, 2025. Written comments should refer 

mailto:Adam.Hooper@maine.gov
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/arules
mailto:Emily.A.Cathcart@maine.gov


State of Maine: Notice of State Agency Rulemaking:  Wednesday, March 12, 2025 ONLINE 

  Page 4 of 6  
 

 

to the docket number of this proceeding, Docket No. 2024-00327, and be filed using the 
Commission’s case management system (CMS) which is accessible from the Commission’s 
website. 
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: Paulina Collins, 18 State House Station, Augusta, 
ME 04333; (207) 287- 1321; paulina.collins@maine.gov  
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): 
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): None 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 35-A M.R.S. §§ 104, 111 and 25 M.R.S. §§ 2921 
and 2923-C. 
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): 
AGENCY WEBSITE:  www.maine.gov/mpuc  
EMAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULEMAKING LIAISON: 
pamela.kowalchuk@maine.gov  
 

 
AGENCY: 10-146 Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Center for Disease 
Control and Prevention 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 1, Transportation, Storage and Final Disposition of 
Dead Bodies 
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P027 
BRIEF SUMMARY: The Department is proposing these changes to amend Chapter 1 and hold 
public comment, so that adoption of this non-emergency rule may coincide with the expiration 
of the emergency rule, which became effective January 31, 2025. Consistent with the emergency 
rule currently in effect, this rulemaking includes the additional $5.00 fee for burial-transit 
permits issued for the transportation, temporary storage, disinterment, or final disposition of a 
dead human body, pursuant to Public Law 2023, chapter 677, section 4, and replaces the 
outdated reference to a repealed statute (30 MRS § 2352) with the correctly referenced statute, 
30-A MRS § 2652. Additionally, the proposed rule changes include technical changes to the 
format to conform to agency standards. The Department is coordinating this rulemaking with 
10-146 CMR Chapter 7, to ensure that the legislatively mandated burial-transit permit fee is 
reflected in rules containing charges for the permit. 
PUBLIC HEARING (if any): No public hearing is scheduled. A public hearing may be 
requested by emailing the contact person identified below for this filing. (5 MRS § 8053(3)(B).) 
COMMENT DEADLINE: Friday, April 11, 2025 
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: Bridget Danis; 11 SHS, 286 Water St., Augusta, ME 
04333; Tele: 207-287-9394; Fax: 207-287-5807; TTY: 711; Bridget.Danis@maine.gov    
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): same 
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): none anticipated 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 13 MRS § 1374; 22 MRS §42, 2843, 2881; and 
30-A § 2652 
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): PL 2023, 
c. 677 
AGENCY WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/about/rulemaking   

mailto:paulina.collins@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/mpuc
mailto:pamela.kowalchuk@maine.gov
mailto:Bridget.Danis@maine.gov
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/about/rulemaking
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EMAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULEMAKING LIAISON: emily.a.cathcart@maine.gov  

 
 
AGENCY: 10-146 Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Center for Disease 
Control and Prevention 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 7, Vital Records Fees 
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P028 
BRIEF SUMMARY: Maine’s Department of Health and Human Services Maine Center for 
Disease Control and Prevention is proposing this rule to coincide with the expiration of the 
rule adopted on an emergency basis (effective January 31, 2025), ensuring the additional 
$5.00 for burial-transit permits issued in Maine remains in rule as required by Public Law 
2023, Chapter 677, § 4. This routine technical rule proposes changes that reflect the 
collection of an additional $5.00 above the current fee charged for the permit required for 
the transportation, temporary storage, disinterment, or final disposition of a dead human 
body, which is in accordance with 13 MRS § 1374. This fee collection must be deposited into 
the Cemetery Preservation Fund and used to support the Maine State Preservation 
Commission. Additionally, the proposed rule changes include technical amendments to 
conform to agency format standards. This rulemaking is concurrent with related Chapter 1 
rulemaking that also proposes this vital records fee change. 
PUBLIC HEARING (if any): No public hearing is scheduled. A public hearing may be 
requested by emailing the contact person identified below for this filing. (5 MRS § 8053(3)(B)). 
COMMENT DEADLINE: Friday, April 11, 2025 
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: Bridget Danis; 11 SHS, 286 Water St., Augusta, ME 
04333; Tele: 207-287-9394; Fax: 207-287-5807; TTY: 711; Bridget.Danis@maine.gov   
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): same 
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): none 
anticipated 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 13 MRS § 1374; 22 MRS §§ 42, 2843, and 2881; 
and 30-A § 2652; P.L. 2023 c. 677, § 4 
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): NA 
AGENCY WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/about/rulemaking  
EMAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULEMAKING LIAISON: emily.cathcart@maine.gov  
 

ADOPTIONS 

 
AGENCY:  02-030 Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Bureau of Consumer 
Credit Protection 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE:  Ch. 709, Establishment of License and Renewal Fees and 
Application Requirements for Money Transmitters and Virtual Currency Business Activity 
and Requirement for Licensing Through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System 
(NMLS) 
ADOPTION TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-040 
 

mailto:emily.a.cathcart@maine.gov
mailto:Bridget.Danis@maine.gov
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/about/rulemaking
mailto:emily.cathcart@maine.gov
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CONCISE SUMMARY:    
 
This rule is necessitated by the legislative adoption of the Money Transmission Modernization 
Act.  It is expected to guide applicants for initial and renewal licenses on the NMLS.  
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Saturday, March 8, 2025 
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:  Linda Conti 
AGENCY NAME:  Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection 
ADDRESS:  35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333 
TELEPHONE:  (207) 624-8527 
 
 
AGENCY: 16-633 Department of Public Safety, Gambling Control Board 
CHAPTER NUMBERS AND TITLES:  
 

Ch. 4, Licensee Records 
Ch. 5, Internal Controls and Appendix A 
Ch. 6, Ticket Redemption 
Ch. 10, Slot Machine Maintenance 
Ch. 11, Transportation of Slot Machines and Table Games 
Ch. 19, Slot Machine Testing and Certification 

 
ADOPTION TRACKING NUMBERS: 2025-049 (Ch. 4), 2025-050 (Ch. 5), 2025-051 (Ch. 6), 
2025-052 (Ch. 10), 2025-053 (Ch. 11), 2025-054 (Ch. 19) 
     
CONCISE SUMMARY:   
 
These rules are to comply with changes in state law under 8 M.R.S.A. Chapter 31. It replaces 
the use of a central monitoring system with the use of facility-based monitoring systems to 
monitor slot machines at the licensed casinos in Maine. It also changes the approval process for 
certification of slot machines and table games offered for play in licensed casinos in Maine. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Saturday, March 8, 2025 
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:  Milton Champion 
AGENCY NAME: Gambling Control Board 
ADDRESS: 45 Commerce Blvd., Augusta Maine 04333 
TELEPHONE: 207-626-3901 
 


